Chocolate Coconut Curry Fudge

This weekend’s random cooking inspiration was the half-gallon of milk that was about to go off. We don’t usually drink milk – I had gotten for a pesto mac & cheese recipe earlier in the week – so I was trying to come up with things to use it in. It was fancy organic milk from the co-op, so I was loath to just let it rot and then pour it down the drain. I remembered I had a half container of cocoa powder (Ahah! It had fallen out of the cupboard onto my forehead the night before – was it fate?).  What uses milk and chocolate? Should I try mousse? Hot cocoa? Fudge?

I decided on fudge, since I had never made it before. Only catch is that I don’t have sugar in the house (most of my cooking is with honey) and pretty much all the recipes called for white sugar and evaporated milk. As I was clicking through recipes that used honey instead of sugar, I came across this fantastic one by Lindsay of Passionate Homemaking. Sadly, it calls for coconut oil, which I didn’t have and wasn’t going to go buy (one of the main tenets of this weekend experimental cooking thing is that I shouldn’t have to buy stuff in advance). Of course, it doesn’t have milk in it at all. “Oh well,” I thought. “On with it anyway!”

With a little tinkering, and some inspiration from Theo Chocolate’s Coconut Curry chocolate bar (an old favorite from my Seattle days that they sell at the co-op here), I came up with this:

Coconut Curry Fudge

Suggested Cooking Instruments: Cuisinart or blender, muffin tin & papers or silicone muffin cups, double boiler set-up, whisk, measuring utensils, rubber spatula.

Ingredients:

  • 12T (1.5 sticks) butter at room temp
  • 3/4C unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4C honey
  • 1/2tsp vanilla
  • 1/2tsp each curry powder, allspice, nutmeg
  • 3/4C shredded coconut

1. Set up a double boiler (a pot with boiling water, on med and a bowl that fits on top of it) and melt 1 stick of butter in the top bowl. When the butter has melted, add in the cocoa, spices and vanilla, and whisk until completely combined and fluid

2. In the bowl of your food processor or blender, put the remaining butter (in cubes) and the honey, then add the melted chocolate mixture. Blend until fully combined, then add the shredded coconut. Process for a few moments until fully mixed and the coconut has been chopped into little bits.

3. Spoon the mixture into the baking cups, filling each about half full, and top them with a few shreds of coconut. I used silicone muffin cups, which are great since you can keep reusing them.

4. Place them in the freezer until they are solid enough to be removed from the cups (2-3 hours). The texture will be stretchy and flexible, not crumbly like many fudges. If you’re using paper liners, just peel them away. The silicone cups you can gently flip inside-out until the fudge pops out. The fudge rounds need to be kept slightly cooler than room temp (I kept them in the fridge until about 10 mins before serving), or they’ll get softer than ideal.

These are large (and rich) enough to be cut into smaller bits to serve more people. I think they’d be excellent rolled into balls and dipped into chocolate to make truffles or something, but that will have to wait for next time.

PS – What happened to the sour milk, you ask? I made slightly-successful paneer. Waste not (your milk), want not (for cheese).

This entry was posted in Fancy, Sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Coconut Curry Fudge

  1. well congrats on the new blog! I confess the thought of coconut and curry put into fudge made me wrinkle my nose a little; but you said you made Paneer too??? Cool!

Leave a Reply

