Whole Wheat Citrus Spice Cookies

Who doesn’t like cookies with their tea? The other day I was sitting, procrastinating, drinking tea and pondering settling down to grade papers, when I realized I *really* wanted a cookie or a scone or something with my tea. We don’t keep stuff like that in the house, and was cold, rainy and less than 40 degrees outside, and I had no cash, so no walking to the coffee shop or the co-op to get a cookie.

I wasn’t sure I had cookie makings on hand, but I looked a few recipes, found most of what I needed, and cobbled together what is basically a whole-wheat snickerdoodle-type sugar cookie, except not as soft. They’re not too sweet, which I like, and they are pretty flexible in terms of ingredients, which I also like.

Whole Wheat Citrus Spice Buttons

INGREDIENTS

1 2/3 C whole wheat flour
3/4tsp baking powder
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp each allspice, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg (or whatever you like)
3/4 stick of butter (room temp is best)
1/2C granulated sugar (I used white, you could probably try brown on these)
1 large egg
1 ½ tsp vanilla
About 2T any citrus peel (I used the entire rind of a grapefruit and most of the rind of a smallish orange)
2T cream or milk (soymilk would probably work here, too)

1. In a smallish bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt and spices

2. Cream together the butter and sugar in bigger bowl

3. Add to butter mixture the egg, vanilla, citrus peel and milk, and mix until totally blended.

4. With a fork, mix dry ingredients thoroughly into butter mix. The result should be slightly crumbly, but should easily form into little balls when compressed.

5. Make the balls about 1″ and space evenly on a non-stick cookie sheet. Press down lightly with a fork to make little discs, and dust with a mix of sugar and the spices.

6. Bake for about 10-13 mins in a 375 degree oven. Cookies will be slightly doughy, but will firm up a bit on the cooling rack. Makes about 24 little cookies.

…and, as I suspected, they are perfect with tea.

This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

